February Update

Thoughts on Decentralized Work and Liquid Death 💀

Hello, superfriend!

In February I thought a lot about work models. Both the one that works best for me and the one we want to implement at Talent Protocol. More on this below.

For me success can be boiled down to having the freedom to work on what inspires you, and the flexibility to work when you’re more motivated.

On another note, I tried Liquid Death for the first time this month. The brand strategy is pretty incredible. The product is just water in a can, but the brand makes it so interesting. At first glance, it looks like some new craft beer (which is interesting for people that like to go out without drinking, like me). The brand is unexpected and entertaining. It’s polarizing and evokes strong emotions. It’s clearly not trying to please everybody. And that’s why it has so many fans and is growing like no other beverage (one of the fastest selling of all time).

🦉3 Ideas

  1. Remote work and distributed work are not the same thing. 🌐 

    • Remote assumes there’s a center, and some people are "remote" from it. Remote work implies you are remote or distant from something.

    • Distributed work means that the team is decentralized. It's a human-centric system instead of a location-centric one. No central office and no core business hours.

    • Working remotely can actually be quite harder, if there’s a center to an organization. Anyone not located at the center will be at a disadvantage.

  2. Decentralized doesn’t have to mean dehumanized. 🪢

    • We’re building Talent Protocol to become more decentralized

      • a distributed team with flexible time commitments.

      • an organization open to collaborate with anyone, anywhere.

    • but also humanized.

      • a culture that values human connection through ambitious goals and collaborative work.

  3. How my ideal work model looks like. 👨🏻‍🍳

    1. work on more that one project at once

    2. one primary project > 50% of my time

    3. short but intense sprints with rest time in between

    4. spend time writing (to reflect and learn)

    5. help others to take ideas from 0 to 1

    6. I don’t care about roles/labels

    7. I care a lot about working with A players / for reputable brands

    8. Fridays are for fun and play

🏆️ 3 Wins

  1. I was fast to get from idea to execution. We had an idea for a Talent Protocol x Lens integration and moved forward very quickly (we even got a $5k grant to do it). We’re also organizing a web3 hackathon in Lisbon in June, and this idea also went from 0 to 1 in days. Progress beats perfection. ⚡

  2. The combination of super productive early mornings, very honest conversations with my co-founders and a week surrounded by the smartest people at ETHDenver, resulted in a big leap for Talent Protocol’s vision and product (coming soon). 🌱

  3. I exercised almost everyday this month. I feel more fit, both at the gym and at basketball practice. And I was even able to keep my routine even while traveling. Do you want to know my secret? Convenience. It doesn’t really matter what type of exercise I do, or for how long. What matters is that its super super easy to start doing it. 🤸‍♂️ 

Pitching Talent Protocol at ETHDenver

Playing basketball with strangers. Also in Denver.

🙈 3 Misses

  1. I struggled to block deep work time. I know that my most valuable hours are the first ones, but I still couldn’t avoid getting lost in emails, messages or minor tasks. In some days I was very productive between 7am and 9am, even though I didn’t sleep much. I should start getting up earlier, which means going to bed earlier too (because I no longer use an alarm clock to wake up). ⏰

  2. This month I asked myself: why do I watch football? Watching my team (Sporting) costs me time and peace of mind, without giving me much in return. The energy of the game, and all that surrounds it, has little to do with me or my values. The only benefit is the social aspect of sharing that moment, but I end up watching most games alone. So I decided to refocus my attention on F1 and NBA playoffs. Since I don’t have a favorite team it’s all entertainment, no anxiety. 🏎️ 

  3. Jet lag hit me hard. I couldn’t get good sleep in Denver. I don’t know if it is the temperature, the dry air, the light or the altitude. Or all combined. I felt the same in the first week in CDMX last year. 🥴

⭐️ 3 Recommendations

  1. Close, a heartbreaking collision between childhood innocence and teenage angst. A film about friendship and responsibility. Beautifully shot and acted. 🎬

  2. How Light Impacts Your Sleep and Mood, Andrew Huberman 📹

  3. Superfood lattes! I’ve only started drinking them this month, but they’re a great way of getting that creamy and warm taste of coffee-based drinks without the caffeine. Plus they’re packed with antioxidants, vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients.🥛

🙌 Superfriends of the month

  1. Meg Forte

  2. Eliot Couvat

  3. João Duarte

  4. Pedro Dias

  5. João Mestre

  6. Carlo Scaglia

  7. Rahim

  8. Francisco Leal

  9. Tom Husson

  10. Katy Atherholt

  11. Alex Poscente

  12. Luca Tomescu

  13. Anna TN

  14. Luc de Leyritz

🙋🏻‍♂️ 1 Ask

  • If you can, please connect me with people in SXSW or in Austin 🙏 

You’re receiving this email because you’re part of my superfriends group and asked to be updated every month about the progress I’m making. I’m trying to figure out how being ambitious at work can fit into a life well lived.

Thank you for your thoughts and feedback.
They always give me so much energy.

Your superfriend,

— Filipe | @filmacedo ✌️