Annual Life Update — 2022

Hi, superfriend!

2022 was a busy year.

The year I traveled and worked the most 🛫

The year I made more new friends 🤝

The year more ideas became a reality💡

An emotional rollercoaster of both stress and success.🎢

I’m Filipe Macedo and this is my Annual Life Update. Read the full version on Notion or a summarized version below. And don't forget to reply to this email and say "Hi!"

Disclaimer:

  • You’re receiving this email because you're either a personal friend or you used to subscribe to my other newsletter MADvice.

  • Superfriends is a different newsletter, where I share monthly life updates about the progress I’m making, both personally and professionally with Talent Protocol.

  • I use Superfriends to stay in touch with friends and people I admire, without having to rely on social media.

  • You can unsubscribe at any time using the link in the footer of this email.

🏆 Wins

WORK 👨🏻‍💻

LIFE 🌱

  • Met epic people. Made 50+ new friends (see list below) 😎

  • The year I spent the most time abroad: ~5 months ✈️

  • Growing Denites and creating Disco Denites 🪩

  • Didn’t drink any alcohol for 2 months straight 🍋

🙈 Misses

WORK 👨🏻‍💻

  • Hidden Talent Podcast: happy that I tried it, but it requires more than I can give now 🎙️

  • I worked too hard because I wasn’t able to separate the urgent from the important ⚖️

  • I never finished my weekly to do list. I try to do too much and always end up feeling behind 😩

  • Our team at Talent Protocol is still not as autonomous as we would like 🚩

LIFE 🌱

  • My focus was just work this year 👨🏻‍💻

  • Didn’t exercise consistently. 🏃

  • Barely read a thing. Not even articles or newsletters 📚

  • Stoped journaling, and, as a result, didn’t stop to think 📝

  • Delaying difficult conversations and hard decisions ❤️‍🩹

🦉 Lessons

  • Be lazier, work smarter. Lazy people don’t micromanage. They avoid unproductive things. They don’t seek consensus. They look at the big picture and focus on a few key priorities. And lazy people also rest a lot more. 🦥

  • Big ambitions mean I need to be super comfortable with conflict and people not liking me (which is against my nature/personality). ⚔️

  • Exercising creates time. Exercise = more energy and ability to focus = more productivity = more time. 🏋️

  • I love discovering new places and new people. I can easily adapt to a new life/place/routine, and I rarely miss home. But is harder to maintain a healthy routine and be productive. 🎒

  • I love being on stage. Either as a speaker or DJ. 🎤

  • When hiring, be patient. When firing, act faster. ⭐

🤿 Go deeper

Read the full version on Notion that includes:

  • Wellness (boosters and drainers) 🧘‍♂️

  • Places I visited 🗺️

  • People I met 🤗

  • Stuff I enjoyed ❤️

  • Intentions for 2023 🎯

Your turn now, don't be shy! Please reply to this email and say "Hi!"

I would love to hear from you :)

Cheers,

— Filipe